University May Monarch shares name with first Queen

First published in News

Elle Osborne has been crowned Roehampton University royalty – 133 years after her namesake became the original May Queen.

Since 1881, when Ellen Osborne was crowned first, the university has had the tradition of students electing a may Queen or, since 1986, Monarch.

Roehampton was one of the first universities to accept women into its colleges.

Each monarch is installed by a bishop and this year Miss Osborne’s ceremony was carried out by the Bishop of Kingston Richard Cheetham on Saturday May 17, alongside more than 30 former monarchs.

Her responsibilities include being one of the Universities ambassadors and raising money for this year’s charity; CLIC Sargent charity.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree