Gang used screwdrivers and poles to rob 27 shops in just eight weeks

Wandsworth Guardian: Coltt Hylton Coltt Hylton

A gang of robbers who targeted supermarkets and convenience stores across London have been sentenced today to over 40 years in prison.

The gang entered supermarketed and convenience stores armed with screwdrivers, batons and metal poles as they committed 27 robberies between March 4 and May 7 2003.

Once inside they would act aggressively, shouting at employees and customers to ‘Get down’ and on at least two occasions assaulted terrified staff members before forcing open tills and stealing cash.

A 20-year-old from Tooting and an 18-year-old from Battersea were sentenced to eight years and three years respectively.

Coltt Hylton of Southampton Row, central London, was sentenced to 15 years’ imprisonment for robbery.

Wandsworth Guardian:

Mustapha Feika, 20, from Tooting, was sentenced to eight years’ and six months’ imprisonment for robbery.

Wandsworth Guardian:

Azizi Foster, 27, of Upper Clapton Road, east London, was sentenced to 15 years’ imprisonment for robbery.

Wandsworth Guardian:

And Stephen Davis, 18,  Mayfole Rd, Battersea was sentenced to three years’ imprisonment for robbery.

Southwark Crown Court heard the men committed 27 robberies between Monday March 4 and TuesdayMay 7 2013.

They stole somewhere in the region of £20,000 and £25,000.

Detective Constable Neil Lambourne, from the Metropolitan Police London Crime Squad, said: “These men were committing violent robberies and terrorising innocent members of staff and customers. 

"Their convictions and lengthy terms of imprisonment should act as a deterrent and send a clear message to criminals.”

List of shops and stores targeted:

Monday 4 March 2013 – UK T Mini Market, Stamford Hill, N18.

Thursday 14 March 2013 – Co-Op, Wandsworth Road, SW8

Tuesday 2 April 2013 – Co-Op, Wandsworth Road, SW8

Wednesday 3 March 2013 – Sainsburys, Battersea Park Road, SW11

Thursday 4 April 2013 – Londis, Queenstown Road, SW8

Monday 8 April 2013 – Tesco Metro, Willesden Lane, NW6

Monday 8 April 2013 – Londis, Trinity Road, NW6

Monday 8 April 2013 – Co-Op, Hackney Road, E2

Tuesday 9 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Holloway Road, N7

Friday 12 April 2013 – Co-Op, Hackney Road, E2

Tuesday 16 April 2013 – Sainsburys, West Green Road, N15

Wednesday 17th April 2013 – Sainsburys, Holloway Road, N7

Thursday 18 April 2013 – Sainsburys, West End Lane, NW6

Thursday 18 April 2013 – Tesco Metro, Belsize Road, NW6

Friday 19 April 2013 – Shell, Edgware Road, NW2

Friday 19 April 2013 – Shell, Kilburn High Road, NW2

Monday 22 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Hackney Road, E2

Tuesday 23 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Wandsworth Road, SW8

Tuesday 23 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Kilburn High Road, NW8

Wednesday 24 April 2013 – Co-Op, Homerton High Street, E9

Tuesday 30 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Willesden High Road, NW10

Tuesday 30 April 2013 – Sainsburys, Salusbury Road, NW6

Wednesday 1 May 2013 – Sainsburys, Mare Street, E8

Wednesday 1 May 2013 – Co-Op, Theydon Road, E5

Thursday 2 May 2013 – Sainsburys, Stroud Green Road, N4

Thursday 2 May 2013 – Sainsburys, West Green Road, N15

Friday 3 May 2013 – Sainsburys, West End Lane, NW6

Tuesday 7 May 2013 – Sainsburys, Harrow Road, W9


TODAY'S TOP WANDSWORTH STORIES

 

Comments

Comments are closed on this article.

click2find

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree