McCallums's wayward arm was an accident, insists Ardley, but no appeal is launched

Ardley: There will be no appeal over Paul McCallum's red card

Ardley: There will be no appeal over Paul McCallum's red card

First published in Sport Wandsworth Guardian: Photograph of the Author by , Sports Editor

AFC Wimbledon boss Neal Ardley says they will not appeal Paul McCallum's red card picked up in the League Two defeat to Morecambe.

The striker, making his Dons debut after a loan switch from West Ham United, was shown a straight red after the referee decided he had deliberately used an elbow on Nick Fenton.

Despite believing to the contrary, Ardley says proving the 19-year-old's innocence would be difficult.

"We’re not going to appeal the red card. We’ve looked at it and although we’re adamant it was not intentional, it is down to interpretation, which is very difficult to prove one way or the other.

"He has caught him with his arm, the arm he is using to jump with. He did not know the fella was there, and he did not even know he had caught him – but how do you prove that?

"The ref felt it was a nasty one and we felt he did not mean it, the lad says he certainly did not mean it, but how do you prove that?"

McCallum is now suspended for three games, meaning he misses the League Two six-pointer against Barnet.

 

 

Comments

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree