Hainsworth ploughs through the snow to win the Crystal Palace parkrun

Hardy runners defy the parkrun snow

Winner: Kim Hainsworth of Dulwich Runners won the women's race at the Crystal Palace parkrun SP73439

First man: Robert Lloyd-Smith won the overall Crystal Palace parkrun in 19 minutes, 34 seconds SP73439

Hardy runners: The athletes set off for the Crystal Palace parkrun

First published in Sport

While most of the country ground to a halt in the weekend snow, the hardy parkrun athletes were out in force.

In the Crystal Palace race, Kim Hainsworth of Dulwich Runners won the women’s event with a personal best of 21 minutes, 15 seconds, ahead of Lydia Janse Van Rensburg (23:10) and Crystal Palace Fun Runners’s Joanna Martin (23:56).

The men’s race was won by Robert Lloyd Smith in 19:34 ahead of Tom Wilson (19:50).

Buzz Shephard of Dulwich Runners won the Dulwich  parkrun in 16:51, with Belgrave Harrier Richard Ward second in 16:59.

The women’s race was won by Phillippa Crompton in 23:51, only just ahead of Victoria Roszkowski in 23:52.

Croydon Harriers’s Brendan Murphy won the Riddlesdown parkrun in 17:53, while Pippa Major of Thames Hare & Hounds took the women’s prize in 21:31.

Serena Stracey of Striders of Croydon won the women’s race at Lloyd Park in 23:16.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree