The waiting is over for the sporting heroes of Wandsworth as Thursday marks the glittering finale to 2015 – and it not just high achievers who will get their moment in the spotlight.

The Active Wandsworth Sports Awards takes place at the Wandsworth Civic Suite tonight, with Sky Sports presenter David Garrido once again in place to compere the evening.

Last year, the Commonwealth Games gold medal-winning boxer Joe Joyce was on hand with his Earlsfield ABC clubmates to inspire the next generation.

However, he was quick to point out the role of those behind the scenes.

He said: “The volunteers have such dedication – without them the clubs don’t exist. Especially at Earslfield - they aren’t paid and they give their time so freely.”

In the run up to tonight, Wandsworth Council’s sport and leisure spokesman, Cllr Jonathan Cook, echoed Joyce’s words.

He said: “These awards are about recognising local people who have made a special contribution to this important part of community life in Wandsworth.

“Sports bring people together, keeps us healthy and teach our young people valuable lessons about discipline, team work and rising to a challenge.”

The climax of the evening is the sports person of the year awards.

In the junior section nominees contesting the award includes long jumper Ore Adamson from Herne Hill Harriers, rhythmic gymnast Hannah Martin, and they are joined by athletes Katy-Ann McDonald and Mohamed Mohamud, swimmer Christy Moon and sprinter Jaleel Roper of Hercules Wimbledon AC.

In the senior section, Battersea Ironsides rugby club skipper Marcus Bailey is up against boxer Chris Bourke, judo stars Abdurrahaman Chaatouf and Julia Scardone, athlete Rechmial Miller, Balham Blazers goal machine Ibrahim Olutade and volleyball player Arran Simon.

Full list of nominees: Community sports team of the year: Herne Hill Harriers girls distance team, Balham Blazers U17s, Spencer hockey club’s U12 girls. School sports team of the year: Penwortham Primary School’s football team, Ernest Bevin judo team, Putney High rowing team. Coach/instructor of the year: Errol Bignall, Paul Miller, Carlos Johnson. Physical activity project of the year: PL Kicks/MOPAC, Get back to netball, Carney’s community. Sports club/organisation of the year: Broomwood FC, Clapham Chasers running & triathlon club, FC Porto of London. Voluntary services to sport: Mara Milanesi, Graham Dobson, Andy Beech, Kate Jefferson, Frances Marsh, Fred Green, Becky Atkinson, Flavia Chaves. Young volunteer of the year: Madeline Ford, Mahnoor Rauf, Rebecca Beanland, Jake Seymour. Outstanding contribution to sport/physical activity: James McDonald, Dave Crilly, Jane Walters. JWE David Award: Girls’ football, archery, boys’ athletics. David Burns Award: Oscar Millard, Mohamed Mohamud, Lizzie Perry, Eimear Griffin. London Youth Games coach of the year: Nikki Strachan, Alex Henderson, Rafal Radosz. Junior sports person of the year: Katy-Ann McDonald, Ore Adamson, Hannah Martin, Mohamed Mohamud, Christy Moon, Jaleel Roper. Senior sports person of the year: Chris Bourke, Marcus Bailey, Ibrahim Oluade, Arran Simon, Abdurrahman Chaatouf, Julia Scardone, Rechmial Miller.